120 Days of Running: The Challenge

I was never a fan of any sort of challenge… but Shelly and I decided we needed some sort of motivator to prepare for our upcoming 100 milers.  Getting out at least once per day would ultimately eliminate a lot of the excuses we use.

Around the same time, our friend Vanessa posted about a 30 day running challenge.  We talked it over and agreed to give it a shot.  Over the course of a few hours, our Facebook friends somehow turned it into a 120 day challenge.

A slew of people jumped on the idea… even some that are planing ultras during that time frame.  Yes, they will have to run the day after the ultra.  🙂

Since I didn’t want people to injure themselves by not taking adequate rest days, we agreed to set the daily minimum at one mile.  We’ll surpass that regularly, but we decided an easy mile should be pretty easy to do.  I’d even accept walking… if absolutely needed.

I didn’t want this to turn into a boring chore, so I’ll start a post on Facebook each day to discuss our progress.  Warning for those that don’t already follow the posts my friends and I make:  They’re often juvenile and moderately offensive.  Join up at your own risk.  😉

So… who’s in?

[Edit- Mark, our Hobby Jogga leader, set up a Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/237319923018368/?notif_t=group_r2j]

###

11 thoughts on “120 Days of Running: The Challenge

  1. Excellent idea Jason. I’m in the middle of my running streak…day 76 of a 100-day planned streak. Might continue after that, but my friends and I just wanted something to get us through the winter. We started on Thanksgiving Day and 100 days gets us to March 2. Good luck!

    -Chris

    Like

  2. Awesome! Some of my most memorable runs were short ones under extreme conditions to keep the streak going. It adds an element of challenge that makes running even more fun and addictive. I missed one day in 2011 and haven’t missed a day since. I’ll just keep going. Happy Streaking!

    Like

  3. I’m not a big runner yet, but i AM a big time walker. I started my 1,000 mile resolution on January first. I don’t plan on missing to many days, so this kinda thing is right up my alley –and once this mildish Iowa winter is over, i’ll get to break out the huaraches and get some barefoot/minimalist walking in.

    Like

      1. I dig, Log book says no missed days since Nov. 30… so, that’s about halfway there. Also, come back to Jersey, and do another clinic (maybe this round we can do more than a few miles)

        Like

  4. Not really into streaks, I think active recovery is good i.e. cross-training but I also enjoy taking the occasional “0” day. But hey, if it motivates you I say go for it! Then again, when I’m into my heavy training and higher mileage or difficulty (lots of climbing) then a full rest day is essential for my physical and mental well being. However it should be easy enough to get out for at least a mile to walk the dog, kids, etc…

    Like

Leave a comment